Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Scott's Substack

Brittany and Michael Present Pioneers in Difference-in-Differences part 4: David Card!

David Card (1956-present)

Well, I told myself I would slowly drip these videos to people, but I can’t wait to show the last two so I’m just going to go ahead and release the fourth one. The fourth person in Brittany and Michael’s “Pioneers in Diff-in-Diff” series is none other than last year’s Nobel prize winner himself — David Card. Considered arguably the greatest labor economist of his generation, Card wrote several major works in labor economics using difference-in-differences and in the process, probably helped bring awareness to the method’s value to practitioners everywhere. Card was Orley Ashenfelter’s student and coauthor at Princeton for many years (recall Orley was yesterday’s pioneer also) but is mostly associated with UC Berkeley. Brittany and Michael nailed it arguably with adding this labor economist to the list. Don’t forget to subscribe!

Scott's Substack is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Scott's Substack to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Scott's Substack
Hatful of Hollow
Weekly roundup of stuff in my head I found online or have been thinking about including discussions about psychedelic science and reform, mental illness, econometrics, economics as a profession, and TikTok accounts.
Authors
scott cunningham