Scott's Substack
The Mixtape with Scott
S2E22: Interview with Dr. William Spriggs, Professor of Economics at Howard University, Chief Economist for the AFL-CIO
0:00
-1:55:07

S2E22: Interview with Dr. William Spriggs, Professor of Economics at Howard University, Chief Economist for the AFL-CIO

A Short Introduction to His Life in and Outside Economics

This week’s episode of the Mixtape with Scott is from 2019. It is an interview with the late Dr. William Spriggs, an economist who died in June 2023. He was a longtime professor of economics at Howard University and Chief Economist for the AFL-CIO. It was from an old series I wanted to do called “What Economists Do” — the premise being more or less what evolved into my current podcast: tell the stories of living economists and in aggregate hope that the collective story of economics is told. And Dr. Spriggs was the first I reached out to. This was filmed at a conference for mentors and mentees hosted by the American Economics Association and we were both there, so I asked him if he’d be willing to let me interview him and he graciously said yes.

For two hours, we talked about Dr. Spriggs’ life — all of which was new to me, as he didn’t know me and I only knew of him by reputation, but not about his personal life. If you aren’t familiar with him, he was a man with a resume. Professor of Economics at Howard University for many years, chief economist to the AFL-CIO, and Assistant Secretary for the Department of Labor in the Obama administration. His scholarly focus was labor economics and public policy, both with an eye towards inequality and persistent structural racism. He was vocal about these things in the world, but also the profession, and he spoke with real courage and so much moral force that it made a real impression on me every time I’d been in his vicinity.  Every now and then it seems there is someone like that in America, and Dr. Spriggs was definitely one of those “someones”, at least within our profession.

After I did this interview in the summer of 2019, I forgot about it. I guess I wasn’t quite ready to do the series which back then was going to be called “What Economists Do”. I put it in a dropbox folder, but then after a computer switch, had selected to sync it to the cloud rather than locally and so out of sight out of mind. So when he passed away, I searched for it, thinking it must be somewhere, then last week remembered the cloud and there it was. So, join me on this journey back to 2019, to my fascinating conversation with Dr. William Spriggs.

Scott's Substack is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Scott's Substack
The Mixtape with Scott
The Mixtape with Scott is a podcast in which economist and professor, Scott Cunningham, interviews economists, scientists and authors about their lives and careers, as well as the some of their work. He tries to travel back in time with his guests to listen and hear their stories before then talking with them about topics they care about now.